Peanut Butter Heath Cookies

Cookies have always been a favorite of mine. I mean, who doesn’t love the gooey, sweetness that is a cookie?  By age ten, I’d mastered the chocolate chip recipe (no big deal). As I got older, I started experimenting with different flavors and that’s when I discovered Heath Toffee Bits.

biteangled

How did I go twenty five years without knowing about Heath Toffee Bits for baking? Probably because for a short while, I had an aversion to grocery shopping. It stressed me out. Luckily, I’ve moved on and grocery shopping has become somewhat therapeutic for me.

Anyways, when I found the glorious 8 ounces of pure deliciousness, I thought: These would be amazing in a peanut butter cookie. The toffee pieces totally balance out the peanut flavor, making this one fantastic cookie.

Now if I could only find a way to incorporate some Nutella…that would make this recipe completely epic.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups of packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup of creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp. milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/3 cups (approximately an 8 ounce package) of Heath English Toffee Bits

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees. Beat butter, peanut butter, brown sugar, milk and vanilla extract together in a large bowl until fully blended. Add egg and beat until just blendedmix
  2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in medium bowl; gradually beat into peanut butter mixture. Stir in 1 cup of Heath Toffee bits. Reserve the remaining 1/3 of cup for sprinkling on the cookies before they go into the oven
  3. Drop roughly tablespoon of dough onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper; arrange approximately two inches apart from one another. Using a spoon, top each with reserved Toffee bitsdough
  4. Bake 9 to 11 minutes or until set. Allow cookies to cool for approximately 5 minutes. Remove to wire rack to cool completelyoverhead

This gem of a recipe makes just about three dozen cookies (depending on how much dough you use per cookie). That’s just enough to enjoy at home – maybe even over some ice cream – and take some in to work. Your coworkers will love you for all eternity. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

