Cheesy Baked Mushroom, Spinach Ravioli

I discovered this recipe in a magazine whilst waiting for a doctor’s appointment. I wanted to roll my eyes at the ridiculousness of finding a good, much less great recipe in a magazine. Regardless, I started reading the ingredients and directions. I can make this, I thought. I sat up a bit straighter in the chair. You see, I wasn’t an experienced cook at this point in my life. So for me to think “I can make it” was kind of a big deal.

bite

The recipe below serves four, but could easily be adapted to accommodate a larger baking dish (such as 3 quart).

Ingredients

  • 12 ounces cheese ravioli (I prefer small, but you could use large as well)
  • 8 ounces of baby spinach
  • 1 1/2 cups of marinara sauce
  • 1/4 cup of sun-dried tomatoes, diced
  • 4 ounce jar of mushrooms, pieces and stems
  • 3/4 cup of shredded part skim mozzarella cheese
  • 2 tbsp. grated parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place spinach in a strainer in the sink. Mix marinara, tomatoes, and mushrooms in large bowl. In small bowl, combine mozzarella and parmesan cheesetomato
  2. Bring large pot of salted water to boil. Add ravioli and cook until they float to the surface, roughly 3 to 4 minutes. Drain over spinachstrain
  3. Add ravioli and spinach to large bowl with marinara, tomatoes, and mushrooms. Lay down enough to cover the bottom of a 2 quart baking dish. Sprinkle half of cheese on top. Repeat with remaining ravioli and cheese mixture, finishing with cheese on topmix
  4. Bake until hot and bubbly throughout, 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from oven and let dish cool for 2 to 3 minutes before servingbaked

It’s healthy, simple and a snap to throw together after a long day of work. Who wouldn’t love a recipe that’s less than 400 calories per serving? I know I do!

One thought on “Cheesy Baked Mushroom, Spinach Ravioli

Leave a Reply

