Perfectly Poached Eggs

My entire life, I’d been a scrambled eggs kind of gal. Maybe cheesy scrambled eggs if I was feeling frisky, but that was where I drew the line. Our first Thanksgiving break together, Max’s mom made this for breakfast one morning. Apprehensively, I cut a small sliver and tried it.

side

How did it taste, you ask? A-m-a-z-i-n-g.

It’s light on the calories too. Yay! The recipe below serves one. You could always use a larger saucepan and make several eggs at once. Since it’s usually just me, I end up cooking one egg at a time. What can I say? I don’t like to get overwhelmed when I’m in the kitchen. And the last thing I want is an overcooked poached egg!

Ingredients

  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 slices American cheese
  • English muffin

Directions

  1. Bring water to slow rolling boil in saucepan. Meanwhile, crack each egg into two separate measuring cupseggs
  2. When water begins to boil, lower measuring cup into water and slowly pour egg into saucepan. It’s important to minimize the distance between the egg and the water! Don’t pour egg from a great height. Cook approximately 2 1/2 minuteswater
  3. Meanwhile, cut English muffin in half and place in toaster. Once toasted, place one slice cheese on each half. If cheese isn’t melted enough, microwave for a few seconds
  4. When egg is cooked, use a large spoon to fish it out. Gently place on top of melted cheesefish
  5. If water is no longer boiling, increase heat to bring back to boil. Pour second egg into saucepan and cook for approximately 2 1/2 minutes. When done, retrieve egg with large spoon and place on top of melted cheeseangle

I’m so glad I took a chance and tried this all those years ago! Looking back, I can’t believe I went nearly two decades without this dish! It’s good old fashion comfort food. Who doesn’t love that?

One thought on “Perfectly Poached Eggs

  1. Eggland’s BEST!! Good girl, naturally nested for a naturally delicious “start of your day”! Increased Omega 3 too… Life is good!

Leave a Reply

