Portobello Mushroom Bake

This was literally the first healthy recipe I ever attempted. I was shocked by the rich flavor and how full I felt afterwards. I always envisioned healthy food as being bland and not especially filling. As with most of my recipes, this one is fairly straightforward.

overhead

The recipe below serves 1-2, depending on how large your Portobello mushrooms are. I’ve found that depending on the season and grocery store, the size can vary considerably. If the caps are on the smaller side, I’ll eat two for dinner. Likewise, if they’re absolutely massive, I’ll cook two, but only eat one for dinner. Talk about tasty leftovers! Your coworkers will definitely be jealous of your gourmet lunch.

close up

Ingredients

  • 2 Portobello mushroom caps
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 ounces of tomato sauce
  • Low-fat mozzarella cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Meanwhile, brush top of mushroom caps with 1 tsp olive oil and season with salt and pepperbrushing
  2. In a skillet, cook mushrooms until soft to the touch, approximately 4 to 5 minutes per sidebottoms
  3. When mushrooms are soft to the touch, place in baking dish, face up. Fill cap with tomato sauce until just full. Top with mozzarella cheese and bake until hot and bubblyprep

I serve my baked mushrooms over a bed of couscous, typically Near East’s Parmesan flavor. Sometimes if I’m feeling frisky, I’ll even sauté baby spinach and mix it into the couscous. Only on special occasions though 🙂 This also tastes great with some roasted asparagus. Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

