Woodworking Hiatus

I already knew that my posts on building would be infrequent. This was my exact thought process when I found out Max and I would be separated by about 135 miles: I can just build on the weekends when I come visit. You see, Max has the two car garage and I live in an apartment. Clearly his place is more ideal for large woodworking projects.

I say clearly because I’ve built in confined spaces before. Overall I’d say it worked out, but I wouldn’t recommend it unless it’s absolutely necessary.

How did Max end up with the house while I got stuck in the apartment? Well…because he wanted a dedicated space for his Mustang and Harley and I couldn’t care less about my Mazda 3. Plus, do we really need two entire homes full of furniture? No thank you! Having an entire home and an entire apartment is already bad enough!

Right now, Max only uses half of the garage which leaves the other half free for me. I’ve wanted a dedicated area for all my tools, wood and scraps ever since I left Boston. Now that we have the space, I couldn’t be more thrilled. I just wish it was more convenient for me. Perhaps at our next assignment? Fingers crossed!

Combine our semi-long distance relationship with the fact that Max found out last minute he was deploying to Afghanistan and there you have it: a recipe for a woodworking hiatus. This deployment has thrown a figurative wrench into all my building plans.

Dang it.

In all of my free time (and trust me, there’s been a lot of it since arriving in Georgia), I’ve continued searching for more plans. And oh boy, have I found some gems. I can’t wait to tackle them. All this looking though is probably a bad thing considering my list of projects is now about a mile long.

Anyways, I thought it would be prudent to give you all a heads up. My next opportunity for building won’t be until the beginning of October at the earliest. Sad, I know. In addition to our Master Bedroom projects, I’ve added a few (read: a dozen) other items to my ever growing project list. Maybe I’ll just blog about those until I can actually start building again 🙂

Until next month!

One thought on “Woodworking Hiatus

Leave a Reply

