Hit the Pavement

Today was my first run without an agenda and it felt great!

For the past few weeks, I’ve been working on trimming time off of my mile and a half. I had my annual PT test for the Air Force and while I run nearly 3-4 times a week, pacing yourself for a 4+ mile run isn’t the same as pacing yourself for a mile and a half (at least not in my mind).

As the music blared in my ears, I found myself rediscovering why I fell in love with running in the first place.

About mile 2 I hit that sweet spot where I knew that I could just keep on going for what felt like forever…if I wanted to. Before I started, I’d committed to a 4 miler. So I cut myself off early, in spite of my good stride.

I’ve done that before: train at a low mileage, then boom – shock my body with triple what I’m used to just because I “felt good.” It may feel good when your body’s in motion, but as soon as you stop, your muscles and joints will hate you. At least mine did/do. So now, I’m all about working your way up in mileage incrementally.

Live and learn, right?

Can’t wait for my next run (Saturday)! It’ll probably be another 4 miler 🙂 What’re your workout plans for the rest of the week?

2 thoughts on “Hit the Pavement

  1. Erin,
    Walking is our thing. Before we went to Texas we were up to 1.5 miles ea. day. We didn’t walk at all while there, the pollen was horrible.
    Sooo, now that we’re back next Monday we start all over again with our walks . I love walking when there’s a cool breeze in the air, I’m do excited!!!!
    Love, AK

    • I know what you mean about the pollen!Here it’s mostly the humidity that gets me! Good luck with the walking! I think anything that gets you outdoors and off the couch is good for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

