The Smallest of Confessions

So, I’ve been bad. Like really bad. Last year, I had this holy mack moment where I couldn’t fit into my wedding dress. While emotionally scarring, this poignant instance in my life got me back on track with leading a healthy lifestyle.

I started by purging my pantry of most processed foods. Once I’d jumped that hurdle, it naturally led me into cooking healthy and planning meals ahead of time.

Add one part overhauled diet with working out 5 times a week and what do you get? A stronger, leaner, smaller body. It was great. Baby fat that I’d been carrying around for quite a while melted away, revealing toned muscles and a thin frame.

As a previous yo-yo dieter, I’d never a) stuck with a diet or workout long enough to actually yield results and b) committed to a complete lifestyle change before. I was happy with how I looked and felt.

Up until about a month ago, I’d been good. Then we found out Max was deploying. Suddenly, everything was “the last.” The last time I’ll have ice cream; the last time I’ll have pizza; the last time I’ll be able to get McDonald’s whenever I want. When I say “I”, I really mean Max, but since we’re married and spend as much time together on the weekends as humanly possible, I unknowingly got sucked into these “last” moments.

Oops.

We were eating out every opportunity. Every meal was fried, processed and so unhealthy. But it was only three weekends, I told myself. Three final weekends to spend with your husband before he deploys for months. So I overlooked my poor eating habits and bare minimum workouts.

Then Max’s departure date started to slip. What started out as three weekends of gluttony morphed into nearly five. Yes, you read that right – FIVE. The end was never in sight. That final weekend together, it donned on me that the sight of french fries, pizza, ice cream, cheetos, doritos and anything else high in fat made me cringe inwardly.

Upon conquering my bout of the mean reds, I decided to share this dirty little secret with all my readers.

Here’s another confession: I don’t believe in waiting until New Years to make resolutions. Why wait when you can accomplish so much in the present?

With that off my chest, I feel much better. Exhale. Starting now, I’m going to prepare my workout plans and share them with you all. At the end of the week, I’ll check back in to stay accountable. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to recapture the healthy lifestyle I discovered just over a year ago. With a little help, some persistence and hard work, I think know I can.

Join me on my journey, why don’t you?

4 thoughts on “The Smallest of Confessions

Leave a Reply

