Walnut Butterscotch Cookies

This recipe came to me as I was collecting ingredients for my white chocolate chip cookies. I reached for a bag of chocolate pieces and it hit me – who doesn’t enjoy a little butterscotch in their life? It’s not all that often we get to savor the unique flavor that is butterscotch. Personally, it reminds me of my grandpapa; he used to hand out those butterscotch candies all the time. Delicious!

vertical

The only downside? It can be an overwhelming flavor. I stood there in the aisle debating how to balance the taste out. I slowly scanned the shelves and then I saw it: walnuts. Voila – problem solved!

These turned out fantastic and I’ll definitely be making them again 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 12-ounce package butterscotch pieces
  • 6 ounces of walnuts, crushed finely

Directions

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine butter with brown sugar, granulated sugar and baking soda. Once combined, beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in flour gradually until batter is of uniform consistency. Stir in butterscotch pieces and walnutsbowl
  2. Drop roughly a tablespoon of dough onto a cookie sheet (for easy cleanup, line with parchment paper!); arrange approximately two inches apart from one another
  3. Bake at 375 degrees for approximately 10 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Transfer to a wire rack and let cooloverhead

Happy baking everyone! Have you ever engineered your own recipe before?

Leave a Reply

