Disney World’s Magic Kingdom

These posts about Disney World are long overdue. I’m sorry for the delay! I could list all of my excuses or get to the good stuff: our photos 🙂

This was our last official mini vacation before Max left for his deployment. Aside from the blisteringly hot and humid weather, the trip was fantastic. We spent five blissfully happy days together in the world’s most magical theme park.

Day one was the Magic Kingdom. If you’ve never been to Disney, definitely take the ferry across the pond. As you cross the water, the castle comes into sight and you can’t help but feel excited.

memory

I have no idea who this guy is by the way. I asked him if he wouldn’t mind stepping out of the picture, but he seemed oblivious to my request.

Max’s tolerance for photo taking is pretty slim so I had to sneak in a few couple shots as quickly as possible. There we are, standing in front of Cinderella’s castle itself. I have to say, it was even more dazzling in person than in the photos.

posed

We got in a bit of trouble in Liberty Square 🙂

stocks

I ran into one of my all time favorite characters on Main Street, USA. Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down…Ironically, Max was holding my ice cream while I posed for the picture. Who doesn’t love Mary Poppins?!

main st

mary

Unfortunately, Space Mountain was closed the day we visited the Magic Kingdom. Just another reason to return to Disney again in the near future. Perhaps when Max returns from his deployment? We shall see… Our favorite rides were definitely Splash Mountain, Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin, and Mad Tea Party. I’m a huge sucker for the teacups. These ones weren’t as big or spinny as others I’ve ridden in, but still, they were awesome.

Pure joy as Max and I take the plunge on Splash Mountain!

splash

Look at that focus on Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin. We did this ride a total of 3 times – it was that fun!

buzz

Big Thunder Mountain Railroad was also a lot of fun for a kiddie roller coaster. It was pretty short though compared to the line we waited in. Pirates of the Caribbean was surprisingly underwhelming. It didn’t help that the ride experienced some technical difficulties half way through and we just sat there listening to a pirate cackle for 15 minutes.

The Magic Kingdom was definitely the right place to kick off our Disney adventure. It truly was the most magical of all the parks.

walt

Stay tuned for pictures from Hollywood Studios!

Leave a Reply

