Return to Woodworking – Finally!

Ages ago (alright, it was only a month and a half), I declared a woodworking hiatus. There were many factors that contributed to this.

  1. I can only build on the weekends I’m at Max’s house because he has the garage (I’ve tried building in an apartment; it’s do-able, but not recommended.)
  2. Every weekend in September, Max and I were away on our fabulous mini-vacations (Amelia’s Island, Savannah, and Disney World) so there wasn’t any opportunity to build.
  3. Upon purchasing my kreg jig, I rapidly discovered that my power drill was insufficient for the task at hand.

Well, it’s the middle of October now, Max is safely in Afghanistan rescuing fellow and foreign soldiers and civilians, and I finally have time on the weekends to tackle some DIY projects I’ve been aching to start!

First things first. Replacing my drill. Throughout September, I spent many, many hours researching what new drill to purchase. Ridgid, Ryobi, DeWALT, Makita – nothing was off limits. I wanted a quality cordless power drill with a long battery life and lots of power. That’s not so much to ask, right?

At the end of the day, I ended up going with a Ryobi 18V lithium ion drill and impact driver combo kit. Special thanks to shanty2chic and Shawn Nichols for recommending the Ryobi line! I put my drill and impact driver to the test last weekend and let me just say wow! I’m so pleased with my purchase 🙂

What project did I start, you ask? Ever since Max moved into his house a year ago – yes, a year ago – I’ve been dying to have a nice master bedroom set. In August, we were going back and forth between two vastly different headboard designs, both off of Ana White’s design blog.  The decision has finally been reached. Last weekend, I started measuring, cutting and joining together all the pieces for the Fancy Farmhouse headboard. It’s very Pottery Barn-esque and I can’t wait to finish it!

So far, I’ve screwed together the  center panel. (That’s how I discovered how awesome my new drill and impact driver are!) I promise I’ll put a mega-post together with step by step pictures of me building our Master Bedroom headboard.

Until then, words cannot express how happy I am with my new toys…er, tools.

11 thoughts on “Return to Woodworking – Finally!

    • hehe why thank you! You’re so sweet! Building furniture is one of my most favorite hobbies. It’s almost therapeutic! What will I do when our house is full of furniture and can’t hold another piece?! Perhaps I’ll open an Etsy shop 🙂

    • Thank you Sacha! I’m about to drive down to the house shortly. I have to make yet another pit stop at Lowe’s. This time, I’m picking up a palm sander. I can’t wait! I’ll definitely put together a finale post that highlights the end results. Fingers crossed I get a majority done this weekend! Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment 🙂

    • It was more than helpful Shawn! Last weekend I finished putting the headboard together. I even got a few coats of stain on it! I’ll definitely be putting together a post about my building endeavors 🙂 Thank you SO much for the advice!

Leave a Reply

