Macon’s Run or Dye

Yesterday I ran in Macon’s Run or Dye 5k. It was a balmy 34 degrees when I left my house. I honestly didn’t know Georgia got that cold. The brisk weather was offset by the fantastic sunrise.

image

image_2

The race took place at the regional airport. Aside from the first treacherous stretch of roughly mowed brush, the course was wide, grassy and flat.

image_4

image_3

If you’ve never done a color run, here’s how they work. You run a 5k on an open course and every kilometer, you run past volunteers who douse you in color. At the end of the race, all the runners gather for a concert. At a certain point, the DJ plays a trigger song and that’s when the real fun begins. You take your color packets and toss to your heart’s content.

image_9

image_5

My friends and I happened to be in the middle of the color mosh pit, dye zone, concert. I remember thinking before the music started, “this color run was so lame – you can barely tell I got hit with color.”

Then the dyeing frenzy commenced.

image_7

image_8

I think purple hair is a good look for me, don’t you think?

image_10

image_11

At the end of the day, I had a blast painting the Georgia sky 🙂 I’ll definitely be doing a Run or Dye again!

Have you ever done a color run? 

14 thoughts on “Macon’s Run or Dye

    • Hopefully one comes to a town near you! It honestly was the best 5k I’ve ever run! If it’s a bit far to travel, you could always make a weekend trip out of it 🙂

    • They’re a blast! And I thought the purple was a fun hair color! Thanks for the compliment 🙂 Perhaps when I get out of the Air Force, I’ll dye it for a while!

Leave a Reply

