Fancy Farmhouse Headboard: Part II

Earlier this week, I posted the basic plan I used for our Fancy Farmhouse headboard. I deviated slightly from Ana White’s design, but only because I felt it streamlined the plan a smidge. Basically I screwed together the 1×2 trim using my kreg jig and then glued/clamped it to the center panel. For extra sturdiness, I then screwed the trim into the center panel from the backside.

The headboard is constructed, but what about the most important part – the finish? Max and I both love the warmth and character of stained wood. So even though it’s more difficult to attain, I decided to go for the gold and stain our headboard a rich mahogany color.

Here’s how our Fancy Farmhouse headboard turned out!

image-21

First coat of stain

image-22

Second coat of stain

image-23

Detail shot

What do you think? Isn’t our Fancy Farmhouse headboard the most Pottery Barn-esque headboard you’ve ever seen? Not bad for a DIY project.

The best part: this completely custom headboard only cost roughly $150 for all the boards, screws, and stain! What a bargain!

I still need to put a coat of polyurethane to seal the finish and make our headboard look completely professional. In Fancy Farmhouse Headboard: Part III, I’ll post pictures of how everything came together in our master bedroom. Yay! I’m so excited!

Disclaimer: Part III probably won’t get posted for a few weeks 😦 I know, I wish it could be sooner too!

Leave a Reply

