NaNoWriMo, Anyone?

Welcome to November (and the craziness) everyone! If you didn’t know, today is the first official day of the National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo.

I’ve never personally taken part of NaNoWriMo. Every year when November rolls around though, I find motivation to pick up the pieces of unfinished projects. I look forward to this time mostly because it gives me that extra kick in the pants to start writing.

nov

Last year I started a book at the end of November and finished it in mid-February, roughly three months. The book took a back seat while I was gearing up for finals, graduation and our wedding. It completely fell off my radar over the summer when Max and I were traveling every weekend. Oops!

When Max left for deployment, I picked up the book again to start the editing process. Creativity and a steady flow of ideas hit me like a big red double decker bus. I ended up chopping out roughly half of what I’d written 😦 It sucks that my completed novel is now incomplete, but as soon as I started incorporating the changes, I knew it’s now a better read. So in the end, I think it’s for the better. We’ll see!

With the onset of NaNoWriMo, I’ve got a modified goal: Instead of writing the 50,000 words in 30 days, I want to finish my novel and send it out to agents. Can I do it? I’m not sure, but I’ll definitely be pounding away at my computer for the next 30 days to find out!

Have you ever participated in NaNoWriMo?

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo, Anyone?

Leave a Reply

