All Spun Up

This week has been one of the more stressful ones since I arrived in Georgia just six months ago. I just inherited another program at work, one that’s much more complex than the other one I’m running. I say “inherited” because I didn’t move from one program to another, I literally got more work piled on top of me.

So now I’m running two programs. My old one is getting a lot of attention in the upper echelons of the government (not in a good way and all because of my predecessor’s management skills) and my new one is so vastly complex that I’m certain I’ll never be able to wrap my head around all the details.

I spent a large part of this week ping-ponging between my two desks that are on opposite ends of the building. People were always looking for me or wondering where I was. It made for a very long  work week.

Each day I could feel my anxiety level creeping upward, soaring to new heights and reaching a dangerously critical level. I knew by Wednesday that I needed to blow off some steam. And that’s when a friend of mine pointed out that classes at the gym on base had opened back up.

(Due to the government shutdown, aerobics, kickboxing, yoga, pilates and my favorite – spinning – classes were cancelled. Even after the government reopened, without a budget established, the classes remained closed. Until now…)

By some stroke of luck, I noticed there was a spinning class the very next day during lunch. Without a second thought, I blocked out my calendar to make sure I wouldn’t miss the class.

It far surpassed my expectations. The instructor, Rhonda, was great. She led us through a grueling hour-long workout, encouraging and challenging us the whole time. I walked out of the studio feeling completely reenergized. I’d managed to squeeze in a great workout, blow off some steam, and zone out to some amped up music. Truthfully, it was very cathartic. As the class progressed, I felt my anxiety level inching back down into the safe zone. I returned to work that afternoon feeling like a new woman.

That was Thursday. This morning, I rolled out of bed, slightly groggy and somewhat annoyed that I was waking up before 8AM. That feeling poofed into thin air as soon as I hopped onto my bike. There’s nothing better than waking up on a Saturday morning and squeezing in an amazing workout. My heart was pounding, the sweat was pouring down my face and my stress level was nearly nonexistent. Nearly.

I still love running, but I think I may be officially addicted to spinning. Let the games begin!

6 thoughts on “All Spun Up

    • Usually I workout in the wee hours of the morning or after work. Thursday was the first time I worked out midday and I have to say – I loved it! Definitely gave me the mental fortitude to finish out the day strong!

      • Yes!! Typically I sleep in on the weekends, but today I woke up early and went to a spin class. I was finished working out, went grocery shopping and had run all my errands before 11! It was fantastic! And yes, I go grocery shopping after working when I’m all sweaty. Is that weird?

Leave a Reply

