On the Wharf

By now you’ve all probably seen the news articles stream across your newsfeed: last week Kate Middleton had a classic Marilyn Monroe moment. On a routine charity visit to Canary Wharf, a gust of wind whisked down the lane, ruffling the Duchess’s skirt.

Forgive me for stating the obvious, but why is this even newsworthy?

Yes, we all caught a glimpse  of a little extra leg that wasn’t supposed to be shown. And yes, Kate handled the entire fiasco gracefully, not even pausing mid-conversation as her skirt flew up. She maintained her poise and tactfully restrained the pleated skirt in an effortless move.

girl

More than that, it’s not like this hasn’t happened before – to Kate or to any of us.

Perfect example: I spent four years in Colorado, where the weather is practically bi-polar and can change at the drop of a hat. Unexpected breezes can knock you off your feet or send your skirt up above your head (no really, the weather is that crazy) in the blink of an eye. I can attest that there have been a few close calls and a handful of embarrassing moments when a skirt or dress of mine got caught in a crosswind. As shocked as I was, I did exactly what the Duchess did and then some. I caught the hem, held it down and then checked nervously to see if anyone caught of glimpse of the fiasco.

It was embarrassing when someone saw it all happen, but such is life. Like I said, I’m sure it’s happened to us all.

So if this happens to all of us then why does the media fixate on it? I’ve tried wrapping my head around this a few times, but I still can’t riddle it out. Do everyday mundane things really belong in the news?

I suppose I’d rather have the media focus on a good role model as opposed to a bad one, but…

The conclusion I’ve come to is this: At the end of the day, articles that fixate on the shock and horror of Kate Middleton’s hemline or her everyday routines aren’t specimens of quality journalism, they’re gossip mediums whose sole purpose is to peddle a few more magazines. I don’t need to know what type of hair product she uses to make her locks shine or where she goes to get her nails done. The Duchess does a lot of notable charity work in and around London – report on that.

Sheesh.

Have you had a Marilyn Monroe moment of your own?

Leave a Reply

