Matching Farmhouse Nightstands

I’ve had quite a few posts on our Master Bedroom headboard, but I have yet to publish anything on the matching nightstands! Tsk, tsk, tsk. The headboard may be the focal piece to our master bedroom furniture, but the nightstands are the icing on the cake!

The plans for these charming bedside tables came directly from Ana White’s book, The Handbuilt Home; the plans can also be found on her blog here. Just as the name implies, this design is a knock-off of Pottery Barn’s Farmhouse Nightstand.

photo 3

The overall construction of these was quite easy. I would say it’s definitely a beginner’s project. It required a few sophisticated tools (like a miter saw and power sander) in addition to installing drawer slides, but other than that, it was a snap to build. It only took me an afternoon to build not one, but TWO of these babies.

photo 1

This was my first experience with installing drawer slides. Not sure I was such a fan. There were moments of frustration, but in the end, the slides were installed correctly and work like a dream (thank goodness!).

photo 4

Look! You can see my pocket holes there on the drawer front. I bet you’re thinking to yourself “Is she crazy for putting the holes on the outside?!” Nope, When I screwed the drawer front on, it hid them entirely! Sneaky I know 🙂

I have to admit, while it only took a day to build them, the entire process of finishing was a painstakingly long one. First the stain wasn’t as dark as I wanted and then it was too dark. It took some patience and a bit of elbow grease to achieve the perfect color, but I think I achieved it.

photo 3

photo 2

First coat of Stain – You can see it’s kind of blotchy

Two coats of stain and some touchups later though and they both turned out great. Success is sweet when everything works out for the best!

Here’s a comparison of the Pottery Barn Farmhouse Nightstand with the one I built.

photo 1

Angled view

photo 4Straight On View

Not too shabby, eh? I used poplar wood (which I consider to be mid to low range in the price department) and Minwax’s Dark Walnut stain with three coats of polyurethane and brushed nickel knobs. I don’t care for the knobs Pottery Barn uses – there isn’t enough contrast. I suppose that’s the best part about building furniture yourself – you get to call all the shots!

The best part about this project? Each nightstand only cost $65 a piece to build. Pottery Barn’s nightstands run $400 a piece plus a delivery surcharge plus tax plus shipping. That’s a cost savings of nearly $700 for the two pieces of furniture! If this post (and Ana White’s entire blog) doesn’t convince you that building your own furniture is cost effective, I don’t know what else will.

photo 5

I’m more than thrilled with how these nightstands turned out. It took a few weeks of patience, but the end result is not only gorgeous, it’s custom and sturdy as a rock! I think it’ll even stand up to all of our future military moves!

We shall see.

So what’s next on my project list? The Guest Bedroom of course 🙂

13 thoughts on “Matching Farmhouse Nightstands

    • Thank you so much! They were so easy to build, not to mention I had a blast with the finishing process. These two pieces have been at the top of a very long list of projects I’d love to tackle while my husband is deployed 🙂 So happy they’re finally done! Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Hey. I was wondering how you attached the 1×2 that go from side to side. Did you place pocket holes on the bottom of them to attach to the sides? Trying to mentally wrap my mind around this project before I start. The pocket holes always challeng me and they seem to be easiest to. 😬

    • Hi again 🙂 Being able to visualize where all the pocket holes go is 90% of the battle! So ask away because once you’ve mastered the conceptualization, you’re set! I did one pocket hole on each end of the 1×2. When screwing into the sides, I placed the pocket holes on what would be the bottom (so facing downward when the nightstand is fully constructed). I was concerned at first that you’d be able to see the pocket holes, but you really can’t. Happy building!

Leave a Reply

