My Top 5 Holiday Movies

For the past two weeks, well thirteen days actually, ABC has been running the 25 days of Christmas marathon on TV. In case you aren’t familiar with this, its where they play a different holiday movie every night until Christmas.  So twenty five gloriously sappy, romantic and funny movies all gearing up to the big day when Santa visits everyone who’s been nice for the year and leaves them a present.

I must confess, I look forward to this time of year more than anything else. The holidays always put an extra bounce in my step, mostly because I’ve been waiting for what seems like an eternity to enjoy some of my favorite films. When it comes to holiday movies, I have a personal rule that I’ve never broken. Not once in my entire adult life!

The rule is simple: only watch my favorite holiday movies anytime between Thanksgiving and Christmas. 

So without further delay, here’s my list of favorite holiday themed movies.

1. Love Actually

image

But you know, the thing about romance is… people only get together right at the very end.

Let’s go get the shit kicked out of us by love.

image

2. How the Grinch Stole Christmas

image

Inside a snowflake like the one on your sleeve, there happened a story you must see to believe.

Santa? Don’t forget the Grinch. I know he’s mean and hairy and smelly. His hands might be cold and clammy, but I think he’s actually kinda… sweet.

image

3. Elf

image

We elves try to stick to the four main food groups: candy, candy canes, candy corns and syrup.

I passed through the seven levels of the Candy Cane forest, through the sea of swirly twirly gum drops, and then I walked through the Lincoln Tunnel.

image

4. The Holiday

image

Iris, if you were a melody… I used only the good notes.

I’ve found almost everything ever written about love to be true. Shakespeare said “Journeys end in lovers meeting.” What an extraordinary thought. Personally, I have not experienced anything remotely close to that, but I am more than willing to believe Shakespeare had. I suppose I think about love more than anyone really should. I am constantly amazed by its sheer power to alter and define our lives. It was Shakespeare who also said “love is blind”. Now that is something I know to be true. For some quite inexplicably, love fades; for others love is simply lost. But then of course love can also be found, even if just for the night. And then, there’s another kind of love: the cruelest kind. The one that almost kills its victims. Its called unrequited love.

image

5. Home Alone

image

This house is so full of people it makes me sick. When I grow up and get married, I’m living alone. Did you hear me? I’m living alone!

This is my house, I have to defend it.

image

Are any of these your favorite holiday movie? If I missed yours, put it in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “My Top 5 Holiday Movies

Leave a Reply

